QueTwo's Blog

thouoghts on telecommunications, programming, education and technology

##TITLE##

##CONTENT##

3 responses to “##TITLE##

  1. Jeremiah Mee October 13, 2010 at 12:15 am

    I’m just saw your android MSU Campus Directory app on appbrain. How difficult of a project is that? I’m not a programmer but I have been searching for a way to do this with a high school I am involved with. Any information would be appreciated.

    • quetwo October 13, 2010 at 2:52 am

      It is actually much easier than you might think. I used Adobe Photoshop for the layout, Flash Catalyst to make the Photoshop an RIA, and Flash Builder to ‘hook up the code’. The most complilcated portion of the code was the server-side where I had to interact with the MSU directory. The project was pretty much done in about 45 minutes or so.

      If you are in the Lansing, Michigan area, I will be doing a presentation on exactally this on Thursday, and will be doing a very similar presentation during the World Usability Day conference. Adobe MAX (http://max.adobe.com) will also have lots of session on how to make mobile apps using their software.

  2. Jeremiah October 18, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Thanks for the information. I have to say I am very impressed and feel very inadequate as it took me 45 minutes to find you on the web and send my original message. I will do some research and see if I have the ability to put tosomething together that will work. My project doesn’t need to be dynamic so that could make it easier. Did you have any summary from your presentation, I’m in Springfield, Mo at MSU (Missouri state university)

Leave a Reply

