QueTwo's Blog

thouoghts on telecommunications, programming, education and technology

Creating a Windows AIR Native Extension with Eclipse – Part 2

In part two of this video series, I go through how to actually program your ANE Windows DLL.  This involves doing some C programming.  Please see part 1 here.

The snippets mentioned in this video are available here :  ANE Snippets Download     You can use these to jump-start your development.

11 responses to “Creating a Windows AIR Native Extension with Eclipse – Part 2

  1. Jeff November 1, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    hey nick

    these are awesome videos this is exactly what i was looking for, please hurry and finish part 3 and 4 🙂

    very useful

  2. Pingback: Creating a Windows AIR Native Extension with Eclipse – Part 3 « QueTwo's Blog

  3. Jeff November 3, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    awesome thanks

    j

  4. flashandrc February 12, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Hey Nick, I’m getting an error where in the isSupported function, where FRENewObjectFromBool(isSupportedInOS, result);, I get an error saying “argument type of “FREObject” is incompatible with parameter type “FREObject *”. Any ideas on this?

    Also, I’m using this in VC++, I know that this video tutorial is aimed at Eclipse, but somehow my Eclipse keeps popping up Nothing can be built so I switched to VC++. But the error doesn’t seem to be program-specific.

    • flashandrc February 12, 2012 at 7:36 pm

      I’ve also tried this again in Eclipse, it’s working now, and it’s still popping up an error on that line saying:

      Invalid arguments ‘
      Candidates are:
      enum {FlashRuntimeExtensions.h:4073} FRENewObjectFromBool(unsigned int, void * *)
      ‘ ThinkpadAPS_E.cpp /ThinkpadAPS_E line 31 Semantic Error

    • quetwo February 12, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      Those seem like the errors I was getting when the header I had wasn’t compatible with my compiler. If you are doing this within Eclipse, did you use the header modifications I mentioned in the video?

      Best I can tell, the error is saying that the FREObject object isn’t defined how you want to use it. The other possibility is that the object-code (the file you import) may be corrupt for some reason…

      • flashandrc February 12, 2012 at 10:27 pm

        I just fired up Eclipse again, this time, I changed FRENewObjectFromBool(isSupportedInOS, result); to FRENewObjectFromBool(isSupportedInOS, &result); and it doesn’t seem to pop up any errors for now.

      • flashandrc February 13, 2012 at 1:44 am

        Oops, my bad, you actually said to change result to &result towards the end of the tutorial. Sorry and thanks.

Leave a Reply

